Where should I link this to? Recent posts
Recent threads
Event Calendar
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
  The Event Calendar for YaBB 1.4 was finally released.  There is a tab for it below.  Check it out.
  HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
am i the only one? (Read 1572 times)
michael
MGG

new orleans
am i the only one?
Aug 8th, 2010 at 11:02pm

ive been playing 4e for a couple of months now and ive gotta say that its not even close to the D&D game i grew up playing. this new edition has become too much like a videogame rpg. it seems to me that it puts too much focus on mini's(and what a board game effect this has on the game,geez) and collecting bonuses from every player at the table just to be able to reach some ultra high number on a d20 to be able to even hit an enemy. no longer is my character record sheet enough, now i must be aware of every power available to every person sitting at the table with me.
the element of roleplaying and cooperative story telling has been buried underneath the min/max-ing to find every way possible to use and abuse the rules on an individual level. the imagination has taken back seat to the power stats descriptions. the rules lawyers must be happy with this edition. it seems to play directly to them.
there are a few things i like with the new edition. that str/dex/con/int/wis/chr can now raise over time is great but these ridiculously high stats and anime style powers that come into play at high levels destroys the game for me. its also cool that wizards dont run out of spells so quick but most of the spells of old are none exsistent in 4e. that every race can be any class is awesome. and im glad they did away with level limits on races.